SWEDEN does not possess nuclear weapons. As a state party to the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT) since 1970, it is recognised as a Non-Nuclear Weapon State (NNWS). It has signed and ratified the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT).

SWEDEN is a state party to the Biological and Toxin Weapons Convention (BWC) and is a state party to the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC). As at January 2012, SWEDEN is a state party to the Mine Ban Treaty and had signed but not yet ratified the Cluster Munitions Convention. SWEDEN signed the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) in June 2013, and ratified it in June 2014.

It is a member of the 65 nation Conference on Disarmament (CD). It is a member of the New Agenda Coalition (NAC). It is a member of the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG).

25 March 2014

Thirty-five nations participating in this week's Nuclear Security Summit here agreed to sign onto a declaration aimed at bringing the international community closer to a universal and legally binding nuclear-security regime.

Spearheaded by the Netherlands, the United States and South...

14 January 2014

Efoorts by Iran and North Korea to acquire nuclear weapons have been at the forefront of diplomacy and international concern over the past few years, and justifiably so. Neither country has been convincingly stopped, although Iran is negotiating. Elsewhere, though, there has been progress toward...

17 May 2010

Posted by Meena Singelee, with input from Rebecca Johnson

In open sessions during the previous week and Monday morning (10 May), Main Committee III, chaired by Ambassador Takeshi Nakane (Japan),  has been meeting to...

35 countries: Algeria, Armenia, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Cze ch Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Israel, It aly, Japan, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Mexico, Morocco, the Netherlands, New Ze aland, Norway, Philippines, Poland, the Republic of Korea, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States of America and Vietnam
25 March 2014

The attached PDF is the joint statement by 35 states participating in the 2014 Nuclear Security Summit, hosted by the Netherlands on 24 and 25 March 2014.

The original is available to view...

Mexico on behalf of 90 countries in favour of working towards an ATT
27 July 2012

Mr. President,

ATT Diplomatic Conference

I am speaking on behalf of Albania, Argentina, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, the CARICOM member states (Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Burundi, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and...